What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley.

Label reading and hidden gluten:

In the US, gluten may not be listed on all products where it is present. There are no strict FDA laws regulating products containing gluten, which has become a HUGE controversial issue in the food industry. Therefore, until this problem is fixed, those of us with Celiac Disease and gluten intolerances must be VERY careful when it comes to label reading.

Ingredients to avoid:

Artificial Colors/Flavors, Barley, Brewers Yeast, Bulgur, Durum, Emulsifiers, Fillers, Spelt (Faro), Germ, Graham Flour, Hydrogenated Oils, Malt, Modified Food Starch, Natural Flavor, Rye, Smoke Flavor, Softeners and Wheat (in any form – careful, it has a few sneaky names).

Sounds like a pain in the butt, huh? Don’t worry, it’s totally doable! I have been gluten free for 6 years and my favorite food used to be good ole’ everything, wheat filled, bagels.

With company’s like BabyCakes NYC, Udi’s Gluten Free, Bob’s Red Mill & Enjoy Life Foods living gluten free is convenient and ohh so delicious!

Gluten Free Wedding Cakes

Are you a gluten free bride? There are so many certified gluten free bakeries out there that make fabulous wedding cakes! Just be sure to ask lots of questions and confirm that there is no cross contamination going on in the bakery. When in doubt ask, ask, ask!!!

For more information, please contact me here!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *